Codebots Basics.

Using the backlog in Plan

Learn how to use the backlog in the Plan section of the Codebots platform.


The following content is continued on from the article Using Plan

How you use the backlog is up to you and your team. Depending upon your preferred development approach, you may choose to keep the backlog fairly small and focused on upcoming work. You may choose to use it to hold every issue which needs to be developed in your product, and make use of the boards to keep things focused.

The backlog has a range of features, all outlined below:

Creating issues in the backlog

Creating a new issue in your backlog is as easy as typing the name of your issue into the new issue input (to the right, just under the header) and clicking on the ‘Create’ button. When the issue has been created, you can give it further details by clicking on the Edit button. For more information on editing issues, see the following Using issues in Plan.

Image

Searching in the backlog

You can search in your backlog using the search bar located under the Backlog header. The search looks at both the issue key and summary, so you can search for either. To search, simply type your query into the text field. As soon as you stop typing the list of issues will condense into your results.

You can click on the ‘X’ button inside the field to clear your query.

Image

Moving an issue out of the backlog

As you would expect, you can move issues from the Backlog to one of your boards. Before you move the issue, first you will need to have your board setup, covered in Using boards in Plan. Once your board is ready, you can move the issue by clicking on the ‘Move to’ button in the issue’s row. From there, you will be able to choose from any of the boards which are currently available.

Image

Archiving issues in the backlog

When you want to get rid of an issue, you can do this by archiving it. Once an issue has been archived, it can be restored if needed. In the backlog, you can archive an issue by clicking on the ‘Archive’ button on the far right.

You can see the archived issues and restore them by clicking on the ‘Show archived issues’ button in the bottom-right of the header. The list will switch to showing all of your archived backlog issues, each of them with an ‘Unarchive’ button. You can click this to restore them back to the backlog with their details intact.

Image

Please note, archiving is not the same as deleting an issue. If an issue has been deleted, it cannot be viewed or restored.

Bulk actions in the backlog

You will often find yourself wanting to do the same thing to multiple issues at once. Thanks to bulk updating, you can do that in the Backlog.

To select the issues you want to edit, you can either select them individually using the checkboxes down the left side, or you can use the ‘Select all’ button at the bottom-left of the header to select all the visible issues.

Once the issues have been selected, you can choose your action by clicking on the ‘Bulk actions’ button in the bottom-right of the header. You can choose from moving them to a board, archiving them, or deleting them.

Image

Last updated: 13 August 2020


Related articles